Farewell

I’ve been putting this off for a while now but here goes. I haven’t updated this blog for a while. This has two reasons. The first being that the japanese course I’m studying right now has a ridiculous amount of homework that needs doing. Normally this wouldn’t be a problem but then there’s this:

My father died this october.

Yeah…..so I’ve been feeling physically unwell, have had to deal with this and had to quit everything for a while. I’ve almost catched up to the japanese course now but not had much time to draw stuff. Anyway, the rest of this post will be a kind of transcript of the funeral for those who knew my father but couldn’t attend it. If you’re just here for the pictures, scroll down to the end for one.

So, what happened? Let’s start with the facts. He suffered from not one, but two strokes, each on my and my brothers birthdays. Then he died two days later. I haven’t cried much but that doesn’t mean that it doesn’t hurt. It really hurt like hell. After what seemed like an eternity, I was finally able to go back to my hometown to attend the funeral. My mother and a select few of fathers closest friends helped arrange all the matters that needed attending to. I have nothing but thanks for my mother who despite being divorced for years went through a lot of trouble to make everything surrounding the funeral work.

The funeral was finally held on the 28 of october. Attending were a diverse group of about 20 neighbours, old friends and family. My father was not a fan of big events so we felt it appropriate to make a priority of quality over quantity. No priest, a modest hall and coffin and an array of flowers yet a whole lot more feeling put into it than an overly expensive thing.

The ceremony clocked in at around 45 minutes, where my brother, I and my mother held it by ourselves. My brother started off with looking back at father’s life. He was an excellent football player and later on trainer for the Yugoslavian team called “Sloga” (sorry if I misspelled that). Apparently they won some big cup in the day. He continued on with how strong father had looked in his youth (to which I can only agree, in the seventies he looked like a character straight from a Tarrantino-movie). He then ended with speaking of his feelings. In between every speaker we had short snips of classical music played. Next up, I spoke shortly of how my father had been ill for as long as I could remember but how he despite that always greeted you with a smile. Last up was my mother, who had written a really good poem about life in general (I had no idea she was that talented with poems).

Then every one got to place a flower on the coffin and say one last goodbye. When we exited the hall a neighbour and friend of my father told me that it was a very odd funeral, but that it was all the better for it. Lastly it started to rain lightly when we exited the chapel. All these coincidences are enough to make a man religious. Father himself had chosen to be cremated and we felt that this funeral would honour his wishes. As I left the church I felt slightly relived and all the memories of a man who could make friends with anyone in 10 minutes after he met them only made me happy somehow. Is that how you’re supposed to feel after a funeral?

Well anyway…

I’ll leave you with a picture I drew the night before he died. Next update will have some of the material I’ve been able to produce these last two months…..and maybe a little news of a certain comic.

10 Comments

Filed under Illustrations, Uncategorized

10 responses to “Farewell

  1. Daniel

    Bra skrivet, Alek! Farväl, pappa. Vi saknar dig.

  2. Jag har hemskt ledsen att läsa det här, Alek. Mina tankar går till dig och din familj. Ring mig om du vill prata någon gång om vad som helst. Kram

    • Tack, Olov. Jag klarar mig hyfsat bra för tillfället. Jag har fått gott om stöd och jag var förberedd på det här i och med att min far hade varit väldigt sjuk de senaste åren.

  3. Aj aj aj…. Det här var tungt att läsa, Alek. Tyvärr läser jag det lite sent, eftersom jag av någon anledning varit frånvarande från min skissblogg.

    Jag känner igen mig i din beskrivning av känslorna – min farfar dog för ett par år sedan, efter en lång tids sjukdom (och allmän skröplighet – han hade fått hjärtinfarkter och led av KOL och en del annat; jag tror att det var lunginflammation som var det sista slaget) – han dog samma dag som jag kom hem från Gävle på besök. Jag minns att jag kröp ihop på köksgolvet och bara grät.

    … Jag närvarade inte på begravningen – det kändes alldeles för tungt – men jag fick återberättat för mig i efterhand vad som hände. Min farfar var inte religiös överhuvudtaget – faktum är att han inte tyckte om organiserad religion alls – så det kom som ett passande sammanträffande att just den dagen han begravdes så fungerade inte kyrkklockorna.

    Det känns fortfarande tungt, även flera år efteråt. Jag har svårt att åka förbi kyrkogården där han är begravd, och när jag skriver det här sitter jag med gråten i halsen – men det finns ändå ett sorts lugn. Med tanke på hur dåligt han mådde de sista åren, och hur trött och sliten han var, så känns det som en lättnad när det äntligen är över, hur själviskt det än må låta.

    Jag hoppas att du också uppnår en jämförbar känsla, även om det kanske tar tid.

    • Det är när folk nära en dör som man inser hur skört livet kan vara ibland. Men man får absolut inte låta det besegra en. Det var tråkigt att höra att ni fick uppleva samma situation med din farfar. Det låter som om han stod dig nära.

      • Visst är det så. Även om han hade varit sjuk väldigt länge så kändes det som om det kom alldeles för plötsligt. Han är den första av mina far- och morföräldrar som dött, så det gjorde att det kändes extra konstigt, på något vis.

        …. Han var en sån där farfar som berättade samma gamla historier varje gång man träffade honom (som den om den blinde lastbilschaffören som tittade på klockan för att veta när han skulle svänga), och som mest knallade omkring i bakgrunden och gjorde saker. Han älskade prinskorv över allt annat, och vet du, det känns fortfarande jobbigt att äta prinskorv på julafton, när jag vet att han inte är där och äter den med oss.

        Jag var som sagt inte med på hans begravning, men jag var med på hans urnsättning (han valde att kremeras han med), så jag fick säga hej då ändå, efter att jag hunnit vänja mig lite vid tanken på att han var borta.

        • Det låter som om han var en riktigt trevlig människa. Men jag känner igen känslan du talade om. Den första veckan efter att jag fick beskedet så var jag med om ett antal tillfällen då jag ville ringa min far och fråga om hjälp med en viss maträtt (något jag ofta gjorde) för att sedan inse att jag inte kan längre. Det är på något sätt de små sakerna som vanor t.ex. som får en att inse hur verkligt det är och det är de som gör alla mest ont.

  4. stela

    dear cousin i*m sorry for my uncle*s dead. whenever you wanna come you can come in our home,always you and daniel are welcome.

  5. Nena

    Beklagar verkligen sorgen Alek och Daniel! Eran far var en underbar man, jag kommer att minnas honom med ett leende på läpparna för den glädje och kärlek han spred till alla i hans närhet. Jag har många underbara minnen av eran far, han kommer alltid att ha en speciell plats i mitt och mina familjemedlemmars hjärtan.
    Sköt om er
    Kram Nena

  6. Janja

    Jag beklagar sorgen Alek och Daniel.
    Det ar riktigt vackert, genuint och tungt skrivet Alek.
    Jag sitter har med tarar pa andra sidan jorden efter ha last vad du skrivit och vet att er pappa ar stolt over hur bra man bade du och din bror vuxit till.
    Din pappa var en underbar man som min familj alskade och kommer att sakna for alltid. Mina tankar ar med er och er mamma.
    Manga kramar.

Leave a Reply

